Big year for Athletics Wollongong athletes

Track star: Athletics Wollongong's Most Outstanding Track Athlete of the Year was Chelsea Ezeoke, pictured here at the club's presentation night.

Track star: Athletics Wollongong's Most Outstanding Track Athlete of the Year was Chelsea Ezeoke, pictured here at the club's presentation night.

This year's Athletics Wollongong club presentation night was held on May 4, so took on a bit of a Star Wars theme. The night became a great opportunity to review the successes of the club over the previous year.

President Mike (Obe Wan Kenobi) McClelland started proceedings with his usual comedic style. Some of the highlights from the many awards included the presentation of certificates to those selected to compete in national competition carnivals:

Charlize Colwell U16 Para in 100m and long jump;

Chelsea Ezeoke U14, triple gold medallist in the 200m, 400m and the 4x100m relay;

Chelsey Rose Jackson U17, 100m hurdles;

Delta Amidzovski U14, Gold medallist in the 80m hurdles, the 4X100m relay, high jump, long jump and silver in the U15 200m hurdles;

Emer Spiers U17 100m;

Isaac O'Brien U20 400m hurdles;

Jackie Lenartowicz U16 Hammer;

James Gorham U18 Pole Vault silver;

James Turner Open Para 400m gold;

Jessica Quilter- Jones U16 400m;

Kailee Moore U16 100m and 90m hurdles;

Karen Clarke Open Women Discus and Javelin;

Karlee Symonds U20 Para, Gold in 100m, 200m and 400m. Karlee also competed in the open age division for the same events;

Kirra Lockett U20 Para shot and discus and competed in Open discus;

Lara Check U17 100m hurdles, high jump, long jump and the heptathlon;

Liasm Halloran U14 high jump;

Olivia Sivills U16 3km run;

Rosie Tozer Gold in the U18 high jump and competed in the Open class high jump;

Suzie Seitaridis Open 400m hurdles;

Teagan Berry U18 100m and 200m;

Tierney Dunne U18 Bronze in the 100m and 200m.

Other major awards were:

Most Outstanding Track Athlete - Chelsea Ezeoke.

Most Outstanding Field Athlete - Rosie Tozer. This follows the massive 1.82m jump at the NSW Junior Championships in February this year.

Most Outstanding Junior Athlete - Delta Amidzovski.

Most Outstanding Masters Athlete - Anthony Howlett. Anthony has just moved here recently from Western Sydney and has already made quite an impression in recent masters events.

The President's Award - Karlee Symonds. Karlee achieved a number of successes this year in under 20 years 100m, 200m and 400m para events.

Clubs like ours rely heavily on the hard work provided by selfless volunteers, or rely on the cheerfulness of others to feel welcome in the club environment. The Ron Bragg Award (in honour of a great Wollongong masters athlete) went to the Sivills family and Naomi Robinson. Barry McClelland has put in a huge amount of time into athletics over the years, in particular the passing on of his wisdom in pole vaulting. As a reward for his passion and dedication, Barry was awarded the Club Person of the Year Award.

Past President Des Comer was a very easy hard working leader of athletics in the Illawarra. He contributed greatly to the eventual laying down of the artificial surface track that we currently enjoy in Wollongong. For his past efforts, hard work and dedication Des was made a Life Member of the club.

The last season proved to be productive in breaking records.

Delta Amidovski top scored with 8 records broken, including some of her own, Chelsea Ezeoke 5, Patrice Sivills 4, Anthony Howlett 7, Leith Babian 5, and Ron Simcock 4.

Congratulations to those athletes nominated for the Shellharbour Junior Sports Star of the year award. Tayissa Buchanan from Albion Park Little Athletics and Kembla Joggers, Chelsea Ezeoke from Albion Park Little Athletics and Athletics Wollongong and Delta Amidzovski from Wollongong City Little Athletics and Athletics Wollongong. Competition was very tight amongst these three national competitors. Delta was the overall winner being awarded a huge trophy and a cheque. Charlize Colwell won the award for the athlete with a disability category.

Three Athletics Wollongong members have been selected as part of the Australian team for the Oceania Area Championships. The event will be held in Townsville on June 25-28 in U18, U20 and Open divisions.

Following his silver-medal winning performance at the National Championships, pole vaulter James Gorham has been picked in the U18 division.

Para athletes James Turner (400m) and Karlee Symonds (100m) have also been selected in the Open Para team.

Extra results from the Australian Masters Championships in Melbourne: Adriana Van Bockel - W65 Weight Throw, 3rd 8.63m, Anthony Howlett - M50 Outdoor Pentathlon, 2646pts - 2nd overall, Gary Hampton - M50 Outdoor Pentathlon, 1473pts - 5th overall.

In the Arafura Games, Darwin James Turner, Ambulant 800m: 1st - 2'05.08.