On the 6th of May, 1858 the first Committee of the Bendigo Jockey Club was introduced.Mr. J.A. Canton, who became one of Melbourne's noted Magistrates, was the first club President. The first Cup at Bendigo was staged in 1868 and was then renamed the Sandhurst Cup with a horse named Old England to win the inaugural event.
In 1873, the Bendigo Jockey Club converted the track to left hand running and the grandstand which stood on the opposite side of the course was replaced by a new structure. This stand was replaced in November 1902 by the stand that still graces the Bendigo course to this day. In 1913 and through the Great War the course was occupied by troops and again during World War Two. Memorial gates were erected in 1985 in dedication to the memory of the Diggers of the Wars.
Today, the Bendigo Jockey Club is dedicated to offering the best country racing experience in Victoria. Situated approximately 150kms from Melbourne, the Bendigo course is one of the most picturesque racing venues in the state. The landscaping provides comfortable surroundings, while modern horse stalls and the large parade ring ensure ample opportunity for punters to study their favorites before race time.